«Permafrost in a changing world»

Following the International and Regional conferences convened by the International Permafrost Association, the 6th European Conference on Permafrost (EUCOP 2023) will be held in Puigcerdà (Catalonia, Spain), 18-22 June 2023. The conference will encompass all relevant aspects of permafrost research, engineering and outreach on a global and regional level during three exciting days of plenary lectures, oral presentations and posters, combined with several local field trips across the eastern Pyrenees (Cerdanya, Núria, Andorra, etc).

The Local Organizing Committee is fully committed to organising an on-site conference to have the possibility to meet in person after these troubled years, although we are also considering a hybrid format including on-line attendance depending on the evolution of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Conference daily agenda

  • Wednesday 14 – Friday 16: regional field trip (Central-Eastern Pyrenees)
  • Saturday 17 – Sunday 18/06: PYRN days (meeting, field trip, and more!)
  • Sunday 18/06: IPA council meeting, workshops, ice-breaker dinner
  • Monday 19/06: 1st day of sessions
  • Tuesday 20/06: 2nd day of sessions
  • Wednesday 21/06: local field trips
  • Thursday 22/06: 3rd day of sessions
  • Friday 23/06 – Sunday 25/06: regional field trip (Central Pyrenees)


Important deadlines

  • The call for session proposals will be open from early March 2022 to mid-April 2022
  • The call for abstract submissions will be open from September 2022 to December 2022
  • Decision on abstracts (orals/posters) in February 2023
  • Early bird registration until the end of March 2023


Local Organizing committee

  • Marc Oliva, Chair, Universitat de Barcelona
  • Julia García-Oteyza, Universitat de Barcelona
  • Josep Ventura, Universitat de Barcelona
  • Ferran Salvador, Universitat de Barcelona
  • Olga Margalef, Universitat de Barcelona
  • Sergi Pla, CREAF-Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Oriol Grau, CREAF-PNAP
  • David Palacios, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Nuria de Andrés, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Luis Miguel Tanarro, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Miguel Ramos, Universidad de Alcalá
  • Miguel Ángel de Pablo, Universidad de Alcalá
  • Enrique Serrano, Universidad de Valladolid
  • Ignacio López-Moreno, IPE-CSIC
  • Ramón Pellitero-Ondicol, UNED
  • Rosa Blanca González Gutiérrez, Universidad de León
  • Javier Santos, Universidad de León
  • Marcos Valcárcel, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela
  • Marcelo Fernandes, Universidade de Lisboa
  • José María Fernández, National PYRN representative, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Rosa María Carrasco, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha:
  • Valentí Turu, Fundació Marcel Chevalier, Andorra
  • Magali Delmas, Université de Perpignan
  • Enric Quílez, Grup Recerca Cerdanya